A bygone era
The heart of the village
Built of local Hurtwood sandstone and nestled behind the church of St Peter and St Paul, The Old Rectory has been at the heart of Ewhurst village life for over 140 years.
Designed in 1874 by W H Fletcher, it was rebuilt on the site of the original building and served as the residence of Ewhurst’s parish rector for more than a century, in times when circumstance allowed clergymen to live in grand style.
A 16th-century tithe barn was situated at the front of the house and existed to store the tithe payments of cereal crops and hay handed out to needy parishioners during hard times – an early form of ‘Christian aid’.
The building was later sold by the Church Commissioners as a private residence and replaced by a modern rectory to the east on land adjacent to the church. Substantial renovations took place during the early 1980s with the addition of a large indoor swimming pool that befitted its new lease of life.
The Geoghegan Group took over the house in 1989 and set about converting it into a comfortable residential nursing home designed to meet today’s needs. A single storey extension was added and an extensive refit undertaken, whilst being sure to preserve the Victorian charm and period features of the original building. Today, The Old Rectory continues to flourish, boasting 32 well-appointed rooms, set in well-maintained grounds with mature flowers and shrubs, and remains a well-loved Ewhurst village landmark.