Past times behind
A fascinating history
Early records show that, in the late 16th century, what is now The Old Hall was built on a moated site and named Griggs’, after its owner William Griggs.
In 1773, a Robert Boughton took ownership and purchased adjacent land from Sir John Barnard in order to expand the estate, and it was his descendant who renamed it Boughton Hall in 1820. The original timber framed farmhouse was at the heart of approx. 300-acres of land, originally approached via wrought iron gates from the east. The current vantage point on Send Marsh Road being that of the rear aspect.
The advent of the railways in Woking in 1838 saw new inhabitants attracted to Send; not just the landed gentry, but industrialists and professionals in search of a country estate. One such couple were political journalist Abraham Paulton and his wife Martha, who leased Boughton Hall in 1870. Following Martha Paulton’s death in 1908, the property remained unoccupied for five years. Several short-term tenancies then ensued, until 1918 when the property was used to house German prisoners of war.
In 1923, some 280 acres of the estate was sold to private developers along with a separate plot of 30 acres to a separate buyer, before the dawning of World War Two ushered in further changes at The Hall. Remaining empty for the duration of the war, the property was requisitioned by the Ministry of Defence to house Italian prisoners, before being acquired by Guildford Borough Council in 1946 from its absent owner, a Mr V.A. Grantham, to provide temporary accommodation to victims of The Blitz.
Following the war years, Boughton Hall became a private hotel, until the 1980s when it was bought and repurposed, with the addition of a single storey wing, to become a residential care home. In 1997, The Geoghegan Group took ownership and embarked on an extensive refurbishment and upgrade programme, transforming the building into a modern facility that was fit for purpose, whilst retaining the building’s original charm and character.
Now named The Old Hall, the building boasts 40 well-appointed rooms and its manicured lawn and garden area still prominently features a majestic willow tree − a silent witness to the progress of history